Writing Wednesday : Week One.

Writing Wednesday

It’s a lot of pressure trying to keeping up with writing, blogging, reading and you know the none important stuff on the side like work. But writing is always one thing that has always been there for me to come back to.

This is where I plan on telling you all about my lessons I am learning and failing at and generally get to ramble on about.

Today, I am rambling. Truthfully I have been working on my project for over a year. I start my first drafts, I write anywhere between 10k to 40k words, then because I don’t have a plan or ending in mind I fall off and go back to just writing notes etc.

I have books, upon books, upon books of notes I have jotted down. I am thinking it is helping but is it really? I think it is just me going on and on about the same thing and developing what I believe is a huge break through, but meanwhile I am really just adding a small part into something I had figured out two notebooks ago.

It’s something I have always struggled with and I think a lot of other people have as well. The fact of finishing. Finishing the first draft so I can edit it, so I can rewrite, edit again. It’s the act of finishing and being done.

My main goal is to FINISH.

This goal is then going to broke down in several different teeny tiny goals in order to make it possibility. The one I am going to focus on first is writing an outline with an ending included. This means I will actually have a place to go in sight while I take myself and these characters on this journey.

Will you join me? If you want to, be sure to check back for more Writing Wednesdays!

Leave a comment